RAN to celebrate a year of CYCLING!

It is close to one year since I got on the saddle – the long last love! Looking back at the year, I feel that it has been one of the best years of my life.

Out of sheer happiness and joy I did something I had never imagined I could or would have ever done. I RAN to my office which is 18.36 kms from home. It took 2:01:05 at an average pace of 6:35. Even though I’ve completed half marathon, this is a special event and very close to my heart. The run itself was a phenomenal experience. At work, I hit the gym stretched and did some push ups. During the workday I felt completely normal with slight tightness in the calves. None of my colleagues could notice a sign of fatigue during the busy day 🙂

Route taken: Bannergatta road > BTM layout > madivala market > koramangala ooty chocolates road > inner ring road > Domlur > thippasandra > bagmane tech park.

This is my way to celebrate the joy of 1 year of cycling 🙂

Following are some splendid memories from the year:

• Trek 7100 from BOTS on 21st april 2011
• first commute to work – 18+ kms one way in 55 min
• making office commute a habit. 4-5d a week for nearly 6 months
• first 50, first century, first 150
• got a cannondale five from RR madivala in August
• Nandi ride from home
• bike rack for my fiat adventure from Kynyny racing
• weekend rides with cyclingandmore.com. I guess I’ve participates in 4-5 events so far
• first Mysore ride on kanakapura road and the second one on the state highway
• multiple weekend rides around Bangalore including my favorite harohalli-jigani climb
• brevet 200
• recent office commute at 23.9 kmph avg – 18kms in 45min!
• Over 5000 kms of cycling in all

With all the energy and inspiration drawn from cycling, i extended into the following too:
• taught Ishan my 4 year old to cycle without support wheels. I could run continuously behind him discovering my new love – running!
• Bangalore ultra 12.5 kms in 1:21
• auroville HM in ~2:30
• trekking with treksandmore.com
And finally my celebration RUN to office!

As you can see it has been one hell of a year. I believe this is my turning point. I’ve got inspired by many and have hopefully helped a few in embarking their own journey.

One very special thing happened in the mean time. I’ve made a zillion friends along the way.

I would like to thank everyone for the motivation and inspiration! Everyone I have met and interacted have made a difference in way you cannot imagine and I cannot explain! Thank you all!

Blog written up in April 2012. Quite late but publishing anyway 🙂

This entry was posted in Cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment