Off to work on pedals!

I bought my Bicycle (Trek 7100) a Hybrid on Apr 22, 2011 from BOTS, Bangalore. I was told to get the bike back for a quick routine service within the first 3 weeks. That’s when I set my first target to cycle from home to work and back before this first service! Rohan’s encouragement and wifey’s confidence were great morale boosters!

20110518-094707.jpg

I live at Vijaya Bank Layout off Bannergatta Road and work at Dell India R&D Center at the Bagmane Techpark in CV Raman Nagar. It is about 36 kms round trip.

I have cycled quite a lot during my school days but that’s a long time ago. Now, I’m 34+ with a less than fair focus on fitness. I had my feet on the ground though. I knew that I would need to consistently increase the distance everyday and taking one day at a time while practicing!

I had been using runkeeper app for iphone to track my morning walks. I used the same app to track my cycling sessions (distance, pace, calories, etc). With this app and loads of music on the phone, I was all set for the job!

Initially I did 5-10 km rides exploring paths around my neighborhood. During the second week, I rode to Bowring institute on St. Marks road covering 24 kms round trip with a 3 hour break in between. That same weekend, I carried the bike to Mysore hoping to continue the practice. On Sunday morning, I covered 18 kms at a stretch which is the distance to my work place too! These two events gave the much needed confidence for the office ride.

I looked up weather.com and May 12th looked like a good day (less chance of rain). I left the laptop and change of clothes at my work place the previous day.

On May 12th, I started my ride at 7:10am happily covering the 18.5kms to my office in 55 minutes. I felt awesome and confident to get back home easily. Since rain was expected in the evening, I left around 2:30pm riding in the hot sun. It took nearly the same time but was completely exhausted when I got home. The target was achieved ๐Ÿ™‚

20110518-105923.jpg

As I complete this write up which happens to be my very first blog, I feel great that I did my second ride to work and back today (May 18th). This time with much ease and less exhaustion!

This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Off to work on pedals!

  1. Vinay Bhoopalam says:

    Dude,
    I am thrilled to see ur excitement.. Good job !!!!
    Ur blog is so motivational… that my thought of buying a cycle increased two folds right now.

    Congrats on your first blog and the successful ride to ur office… Look forward to more blogs,

    Cheers,
    Vinay

    • kishankumarp says:

      Thank you Vinay for the first comment on my blog ๐Ÿ˜€

      Don’t think too much about the decision. Let’s just go and get you a bike. You will be doing good distances in no time at all!

  2. I am very happy to see ur blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I never expected u would restart cycling at this age hubby. All the best and I am confident that u will write more blogs like these. It’s a great achievement and I am very happy for you!

    This is motivating and I hope that one day I will also get to write about my own achievement like this!

    BTW u look cool in those pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep cycling, keep writing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kishankumarp says:

      Arch,
      It was not possible without your encouragement. I hope to get you the bike soon so we can go places together!

      Looking forward to your first blog and hey thanks a ton for your review an comments while I was working on this one. I could not have done it without you!

      -Kishan

  3. Deepthi says:

    Welcome to the bloggers world, I have been blogging since March this year and it is a wonderful experience.. Btw nice blog.. Keep cycling and keep blogging..

  4. Rajeev says:

    with present fast and electronic age where everyone wants to have the easy way out to stay fit, you have taken the old world method to stay fit, hats off to you.

    • kishankumarp says:

      Rajeev,
      Thanks much for the comment. You are correct. I feel like I have come a full circle now! Initially I wanted to write a blog about the quest for fitness and name it “a full circle” but I’d like to reserve that for later ๐Ÿ™‚

      -Kishan

  5. Sanjeev says:

    Kishan.. You are the MAN!!!!! no matter who say whatever.. u know to enjoyyyyyyyy.. keep them coming…

  6. kailash says:

    Gr8 blog, a perfect 10 for your cycle passionโ€ฆ
    I never expected that your cycle will make its first appearance at dell so early. BTW, just noticed that you have completed more than a month with you new hybrid bike ๏Š

    Good way to have fun & fitnessโ€ฆkeep cycling

    • kishankumarp says:

      Thank you for encouraging words Kailash! You are right. It is a full month now. I did not think that I would cycle to work this early. As of yesterday I have completed 3 rides to work and loved everyone of them ๐Ÿ™‚

      I have made up my mind. The next target is 50km ride!

  7. Amit B says:

    Hey Kishan! Great job picking the sport of cycling. Its a great cardio workout plus the most green activity you can do (zero green house and air pollutant gases). Our country needs role models like you to inspire folks of all ages to follow suit. Keep up the good work!! Like I promised ya when you come to the US next time, I’ll take you on the nice scenic (read: “hilly”) roads of Austin, TX where Lance rides ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kishankumarp says:

      You are right Amit. It is a great way to stay fit. I am completely in love with it!

      I’ll accept the role model comment with a pinch of modesty ๐Ÿ™‚ and on a lighter side would say that the real role models are outside our country and I may be making up for that ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I cannot wait to ride with you in Austin but hope to prepare well for the event so I can enjoy the scenery rather than focus hard on the ride. That would make for a wonderful blog too!

Leave a comment